A reminder of Nigel Murray’s bike ride for Help for Heroes

I saw on the news last night the funeral of yet another British soldier killed in Afghanistan. He was married to a local girl and had three boys. He was 25.

It reminded me about this year’s Big Battlefield Bike Ride in aid of Help for Heroes which Nigel Murray and others from Huron Legal’s London office are bravely undertaking. The “heroes” referred to are the many who do not die but who are brought back home badly injured.

I wrote about Nigel’s 2012 involvement in my article Nigel goes over the top on his bottom for Help for Heroes. I am given to understand that he is in training, recently in Dubai, whence he reported as follows:

With only 6 weeks to go until the off (20th May) my training needs to step up a bit!  I was fortunate to be in Dubai for a week before Easter and managed to take a couple of days off.  So, hired a bike from a local shop and on the first morning headed into the desert, mostly on roads, however now and again these ran out, so had to walk to the next bit of road!.  Well, the climate in Dubai, like in other parts of the world, is getting pretty unpredictable and erratic.  On the day I landed it was in the late 20’s (early 80’s) however on the day I headed into the desert (leaving the bike shop at 1130am)  it rose to 42 degrees (107).  And with a decent wind blowing up the sand it was an interesting experience – and one that I am unlikely to face in Northern France.  At one stage I took to sitting on a box in the underground car park of a horse race track, drinking my bottle of (very warm) water trying to cool down!  Good for fitness though – and I survived.  All in all, I probably managed about 90 miles in Dubai over 3 rides – I say probably because I had no speedo so distances were a guess based on an assumption of an average speed of 15 mph and the time actually riding

As happens every year, I will be abroad, this time in Las Vegas for CEIC. One year I will actually fulfill my ambition of a giving Nigel a wave as he pedals past.

It is good to see so many names from the eDiscovery/eDisclosure industry supporting Nigel. If you would like to join them, the donations page is here.

Home

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

