New Blog for eDiscovery Updates

My main output is a blog at http:chrisdale.wordpress.com which has carried commentary on eDisclosure / eDiscovery around the world since 2007. Some time ago, I started using a Google Plus page for shorter articles – promoting webinars, drawing attention to articles by others, reporting on new releases or industry appointments – which were no less important than my own commentary but which were of a different kind. A proper blog post might take me a day to write and is intended to be as useful a year hence as on the day it is written. Every word is carefully chosen, every sentence is reviewed and edited if necessary, and every paragraph is rolled around in my head until it flows properly.

There is a limit to the number of these I can produce in a year. The Google+ idea was to supplement the contemplative stuff with some of the many interesting things whch fly by every day. It is easily updated, requires little formatting, picks up a hyperlink or photograph and, of course, has the beenfit of Google’s own indexing which, supplemented with some failry intensive cross-linking from elsewhere, gives me good SEO (Search Engine Optimisation).

I just don’t get along with it. The most obvious visible defect is that it truncates my business name (“eDisclosure Information Proj” lacks style, I think), and Google shows no interest in fixing the constraint. They clutter the edges with the sort of crap they think you want to see, and give very little control over appearance. Going into Google Plus feels (as someone else once said) like entering an empty meeting room at an airport hotel. Google already likes to tell you what you really meant to search for. How long before they start telling you what you really meant to write?

WordPress has superb SEO, and gives much more control over appearance. If this page looks a little bare at the moment, that is because I have a backlog of short posts to do, reflecting the fact that my November was spent largely in aeroplanes. I am more interested in getting them up so that I can move onto more substantal things.

I have given this site the imaginative url, chrisdale2.wordpress.com to make it easy to find. One of the drivers for the extra resource was that I could publish several short posts without driving away those who have signed up for an email with every new post on the main blog. You can do that here, but you know what you are signing up for. The longer posts will still be found at chrisdale.wordpress.com

About Chris Dale

I have been an English solicitor since 1980. I run the e-Disclosure Information Project which collects and comments on information about electronic disclosure / eDiscovery and related subjects in the UK, the US, AsiaPac and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Litigation Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

