Nigel Murray jumps for Help for Heroes

Nigel Murray is Managing Director at Huron Legal in London. Those who have known him for years as the exemplar of practice development sociability (with all that that entails in food and drink) were rather surprised when, a few years ago, he announced his intention of cycling several hundred miles across France in support of the wounded servicemen’s charity Help for Heroes. He defied our surprise and completed the ride, doing so every year since and raising large sums of money for the charity as a result. This year he was accompanied by a Huron team.

Nigel spends a lot of his time on aeroplanes – even more than I do, which is saying something. I don’t enjoy it particularly, but I have never felt the urge to jump out of the plane. Last Saturday, however, Nigel did just that, from a small plane over Netheravon airfield in Wiltshire. His feat has so far raised over £2000 for Help for Heroes.

His fund-raising page is here. It links to a video of the event which I challenge you to watch without feeling compelled to support Nigel (you may feel slightly sick as well at the thought of it). I simply could not do it, and I salute him for his courage.

Watching the video gives you the sight – and sound – of the lady who apparently changed her mind at the last minute as she was sitting on the step ready to jump (that would have been me had I been there). They pushed her out anyway, and her wailing can be heard as she fell. If I had made it that far and was next in the queue, this would be enough to put me off but Nigel merely looks as if they had just announced his gate at Heathrow.

I am banging on about this on Twitter because I am determined that Nigel reaches at least £2,500. If you want me to stop, you know what to do.

About Chris Dale

I have been an English solicitor since 1980. I run the e-Disclosure Information Project which collects and comments on information about electronic disclosure / eDiscovery and related subjects in the UK, the US, AsiaPac and elsewhere
This entry was posted in Litigation Support. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

