Cut off in the country

I was away last week, which is why there were no posts, no updates to my Rebelmouse news pages, and few tweets.

We were at the far end of Worcestershire, in a large house which had been taken by a friend celebrating her 60th birthday. You get some idea of the scale of it when I say that it had its own steam railway in the grounds – on your sixth birthday, you may get to ride behind a steam engine; on your 60th, you get to drive it.

Model Steam Engine

I have no particular issue with working on holiday; the problem was a practical one to do with access to the outside world. The broadband was intermittent, and neither of my mobile phone providers think it important to connect their paying clients once they move out of urban areas (indeed, O2 is unavailable in parts of North Oxford). Like those other shysters, the train operating companies, they are happy to take your money up front but have no ambition to provide a service, nor shame at their failure to do so. Between them, the incompetent and greedy comms and railway companies provide an effective brake on the development of business outside the major cities.

Even when there was a web connection, I may well have missed tweets about things which matter in the eDiscovery / eDisclosure world. My Twitter timeline was cluttered with comment on the imminent general election; not all of it is uninformed, vapid tripe, but it becomes rather difficult to pick out the work-related stuff from the rest. I was left with the sense that the eDiscovery world has fallen silent; I suspect in fact that it has merely been drowned out, and if I have missed tweets which I should have followed up then that is my excuse.

This week brings a talk to major London law firm, a meeting with two leading costs experts to plan a forthcoming panel session, and the Relativity Spring Launch in London.

With that behind me, I can concentrate on the news as it develops, and on preparation for IQPC’s Information Governance and eDiscovery Summit and for Guidance Software’s CEIC which take place back to back on opposite sides of the world in mid May. I will write about both of those shortly.

About Chris Dale

I have been an English solicitor since 1980. I run the e-Disclosure Information Project which collects and comments on information about electronic disclosure / eDiscovery and related subjects in the UK, the US, AsiaPac and elsewhere
This entry was posted in CEIC, Guidance Software, IQPC, KCura. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

